Grasping the lichen…

Well… sometimes you start with an easy quick sketchy idea, to finally find a huge challenge.

My idea was: humm I’m bored, why not draw something small to end it fast!
I went to the backyard, and grab the first thing I find: a tiny lichen on a piece of wood..

I try my best at the first glance and using no more than the naked eye…

Imagen

… and feel that this is not “working” so smooth.

 

Lichens are a very simple kind of organism, and represents a good example of geometry design towards areal multiplication: bending of the superficies, multiple fracturing of the edges to grow new “branches”, folding margins etc etc

So in its diminutive world, my little lichen was requesting more serious attention:

 

Imagen

As a beginner in the huge world of the watercolours, any time I’m with the brushes over the paper (scared as hell) I pay more attention for sure!

And results look much better than the first attempt.

 

… but…

 

…not so close of the actual lichen I was watching in front of me.

 

Hours pass and nothing “magical” comes to help me so I try to zoom out and :

Imagen

 

And lichens enter in my black list of things I can not draw easily…  (not yet!)

 

Categories: Sketchs | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

