Thumbling adventures

I have been very busy at work and life last month, so each time I passed by wordpress to check was it with some sad lack of time to write and translate a post.

And today’s post is about one of the multiple tasks that I took these days:
There is a biennial book fair in my town specially dedicated to childrens and young ones and one of the organizers is a family old friend. She encouraged me to participate at the second edition of a illustration contest, themed on stories for childrens.

Since this is very different from my style theme this was a multiple challenge, therefore I chose a well known story and decided to explore the style of drawings that had old books. Somehow, it’s my dream as a child to draw things like storybooks of my childhood.

So here is my “Pulgarcito” (Tom Thumb – Thumbling) merry walking through the brush!

This is the final sketch of a quite long series of attempts…

 

pulgarcito web

 

 

 

And the finished illustration!
I used watercolours, pencils, collage, etc etc (even the needle is a real one just to be a innovative artist!)

 

 

 

 

pulgarcillo web

 

We’ll see what happens next time 😉

Manuel

 

 

 

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

