On some old drawings.

Dusting off some folders on a Sunday cleaning, I found some of my first attempts at scientific drawing.

I have to admit that the first of all were direct copies of illustrations of books or magazines, but, as an exercise of exploration  I got fond results and that encouraged me to keep going.

caballo cervical web

Horse (Equus sp) cervical vertebrae, anterior view. (Copied from an old book)

Another horse vertebrae (dorsal?) This time I copied the dot shaded drawing and just beside I made a grey scale reinterpretation. (circa 2008) (From the same old book, I can't recall which one)

Another horse vertebrae (dorsal?) This time I copied the dot shaded drawing and just beside I made a grey scale reinterpretation. (2008)
(From the same old book, I can’t recall which one)

Then I started experimenting with bones that had at my disposal,  to try to get a more “real” approximation of what this job entails…

craneo de Coipo web

Coypu (Myocastor coipus) broken skull. Field sketch on notebook (2009)

A horse's metatarsal, distal end. (A gift from a very good friend)  I planned to do four views of this fragment, but then a paleontologist saw this drawing among other, and began to give me some real bones to deal.. (2009)

A horse’s metatarsal distal end. (A gift from a very good friend)
I planned to do four views of this fragment, but then a paleontologist saw this drawing (among other), and began to give me some real bones to deal.. (2009)

Then it was time to draw real fossils! And I was lucky enough to start with a sauropod dinosaur: Bonitasaura salgadoi.

While these drawings were not published, I took my work very seriously and gave my best!

chevron Bonitasaura web

Bonitasaura salgadoi chevron. Maybe the most extensively illustrated chevron of a patagonian sauropod… The drawings are made at natural size because I used to cast vertical lines from the fossil contour to the sheet of paper.

falange Bonitasaura web

Bonitasaura salgadoi phalanx (?). This one is big as the A4 sheet I used, and that made me feel uncomfortable. I was a newbie at the time on how to draw wide areas with gray tones. (2009)

I pass all of 2009 and early 2010 experimenting and refining my drawings, until I took a course in scientific illustration and I really felt fit to go out and play in the big leagues!

But nevertheless, I’m still learning with curiosity every time I am presented with a new job, a new challenge to achieve…

Categories: Paleoart | Tags: , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “On some old drawings.

  1. I am encouraged by this. My first attempt at drawing an African Bullfrog skull was rather lame, but it is clear people can get much better at it. Your drawing is inspiring.

    • The skull of the African bullfrog has a very nice combination of heavily ornamented and smooth surfaces. I encourage you to try again! To me is always a good experience redraw things or compositions that remained unresolved.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

